ADAQ and BOQ Specialist announce 2020 recipients of CPD bursaries

Queensland dentists, Dr Mia Zhu and Dr Georgia Sheahan, have been awarded the 2020 Australian Dental Association Queensland Branch (ADAQ) and BOQ Specialist Bursary.

Dr Zhu from John Street Dental in Redcliffe and Dr Sheahan from North Brisbane Dental Clinic in Wooloowin will each receive $5,500 to put towards ADAQ Continued Professional Development (CPD) courses after being named the recipients of the bursary.

Now in its fourth consecutive year, the ADAQ and BOQ Specialist bursary program aims to recognise and reward dental practitioners who are committed to high quality learning by providing financial support for further professional development. In addition to the bursary offered to an experienced dental practitioner (with over five years of work experience), a bursary was offered for the first time to a recent dental graduate (with less than five years of work experience).

2018 Griffith University alumni and recipient of the inaugural recent graduate bursary, Dr Zhu said that the bursary would provide her with tremendous financial support to enable her to undertake further CPD courses.

“As a recent graduate, I feel out of my depth sometimes when treating complex cases. To combat this, I’ve attended many CPD courses so I can improve my skills and be confident in providing patients high quality dental treatments.

“The bursary will enable me to participate in CPD courses and stay updated with the latest knowledge so I can provide the highest quality of care to my patients.” said Dr Zhu.

Fellow bursary recipient and owner of North Brisbane Dental Clinic, Dr Sheahan said the bursary would allow her the opportunity to not only educate herself further, but to help educate her team.

“Our materials, techniques and equipment are evolving at a rapid place and I feel that it is our responsibility and commitment to our patients that we keep up to date with what’s happening in dentistry.”

“CPD can be expensive, so I feel it's important for me as the practice owner to help cover these costs to ensure my team and I continue learning. I also believe it’s good for my team to see me continuing my education even after 20 years of experience.”

ADAQ Immediate Past President and bursary selection panel member, Dr Norah Ayad said, “The chosen recipients showed a dedication and commitment not just to their own continuing professional development, but also to developing their teams to deliver the highest quality care to their communities.”

BOQ Specialist’s Queensland State Manager, Jeff Miller, concluded, “BOQ Specialist has been working closely with dentists for over 30 years and during this time, we have continually seen the benefits and opportunities that ongoing upskilling and training not only brings to practices, but to the wider community.

“We are proud to partner once again with the ADAQ to recognise two outstanding recipients in Dr Zhu and Dr Sheahan.

“As a recent graduate, Dr Zhu’s commitment to her own professional development in order to provide an exceptional level of care to her patients is commendable, and a great example to other young dentists. “Dr Sheahan’s genuine passion for her people, patients and community, as well as her team-oriented approach to professional development, also make her a very deserving recipient of this year’s bursary,” said Mr Miller.

Dr Zhu and Dr Sheahan will be profiled in ADAQ’s Dental Mirror as well as BOQ Specialist’s own ‘Best Practice’ magazine.

Media enquiries

Bank of Queensland
Tracy Hicks
Head of Corporate Affairs
Tel: 0439 540 960
Email: [email protected]

Jane Nettleton
Manager – Marketing, Membership and Engagement
Tel: (07) 3252 9866
Email: [email protected]

More News Stories